Coming Back

Image

“I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You,
It’s all about You, Jesus.” – Michael W. Smith

I think we can get caught up in ourselves sometimes. I know life is not a wish granting machine, and it can throw us some serious curve balls. Some we can hit but some we strike out on. I’ve learned that even in those times when we are at a low, God is always right there. He’s proven that to me so many times and I know he’ll continue to remind me that he is here. Sometimes though, we just get caught up in ourselves and our own lives and forget that truth. 

At the beginning of this journey one of my goals was to grow closer to God and strengthen my walk with him. Even though I have not really started it just yet, I’ve come to realize that I’ve some what lost that as a focus point and a goal. To be quite honest it is hard for Christians to keep God as a main focus. Yes some do a better job of it than others but over all, we are all flawed and at some point we will all fall. It took me going back to my old college campus to meet up with my old SOC Club (sociology club) to remember that. 

For the past few years, SOC Club has collected supplies and gotten together and made shoe boxes full of gifts for Operation Christmas Child. We’d then take them over to the CAF (cafeteria) to give to the Operation Christmas Child sponsors to be delivered. This year though they decided to join forces with the organization and join in with the packing party at a student lead weekly event called Elevate. 

I was early as always and found myself wondering around the campus as I used to do. I browsed our library and found a book on Journalism. I’m a huge fan of the show The Newsroom so I dove right into this book. Anyway, I made my way over to the CAF for the packing party. They kicked off the night with some current worship songs. To be honest I wasn’t all that into it at first but I could feel God just pulling at my heart and I found myself in a state of total worship. It was so great and very much needed. I run my church’s sound system and media during the Sunday messages so don’t get to worship as much as I’d like to. 

In that time of worship I remembered what I was really trying to do with this project of mine. To get back to being Golden. To get back to being the best self I can be. To gain a stronger thankfulness for the blessings God has given me. To grow closer to him and stronger in my walk. I had lost this focus all due to the fact that I was preoccupied and distracted by other things. I’m not blaming my phone or computer for that totally, because there are more things in my life that distract me than just my phone or computer. 

I think we just lose ourselves sometimes in our own lives. Sometimes work gets crazy busy. Sometimes bills pile up. Sometimes brand new things take over our attention. Sometimes we just get into a routine and get stuck. God asks for not just 10% of our love. He doesn’t ask for 50% or 99.9% of our love and life. He asks for 100% of our hearts and souls.

Even if you don’t believe in the same beliefs as I do, there are certain things in all of our lives that take us away from the dreams and goals we have and want for our lives. I love the show The Office. ( I love a lot of TV shows and Movies. My whole family has this cornucopia of knowledge about random things. I’m no different.) Pam, the receptionist to Dunder Mifflin Paper Company, said this: 

“It’s not every little girls dream to become a receptionist.”

The Office really shows this truth through out the series. Sometimes we let ourselves compromise with what life gives us and we compromise. I’ve learned that you shouldn’t compromise your dreams. You may have to work in the trenches for a while till you get there but you’ll get there. You just can’t lose focus what you want in your life. Not to use a common social term, but you only have one life to live. I believe you should not waste it in any sense. Always keep your dreams and what you want for your life. “Never Give up! Never Surrender!” – Galaxy Quest

I’ve learned a lot from the places and situations God has lead me through. I know he has many more places to take me and journeys to experience. I know I will fall but I know he has given me the strength to get back up  and to “Just keep swimming.” (Dory, Finding Nemo).

I hope this could help you in some kind of way. Whether inspire you or give you some cool quotes to use on a whim. 

Continue to pray for me and thank you to all who continue to support me!

I leave you with one last quote. One of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite television series. 

“Give all of us gathered here tonight the strength to remember that life is so very fragile. We are all vulnerable, and we will all at some point in our lives… fall. We will all fall. We must carry this in our hearts. That what we have is special. That it can be taken from us and that when it is taken from us, we will be tested. We will be tested to our very souls. We will now all be tested. It is these times; it is this pain that allows us to look inside ourselves.”

– Coach Eric Taylor, Friday Night Ligths

Leave a Reply

