The Traveler

Image

“I am and always will be the optimist. The hoper of far-flung hopes and the dreamer of improbable dreams.”
— The Doctor

I really could not think of anything to write this morning. At first I kinda just dismissed the idea of posting today since I posted twice yesterday. But I like writing and it occurred to me that I have to really told you who I am. And there’s not better time then the present. 

My name is Brec Evans-Orrell. I am 22 years old and live in Charleston, SC. I am currently figuring out which way to go right now in terms of my masters, but who hasn’t been in that position after they graduate college. I am a huge music lover. I really do love listening to any and all kinds of music.

I started off listening to a lot of old honky tonk and country, then progressed into listening to a lot of 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s music. Then got really into classical music. From there I found my way into EDM (Electric Dance Music) for a number of year. From there I back tracked to the 20’s 30’s and 40’s.Then I got into a really rocky phase going form hard rock, to Heavy Metal, to Punk to and then to Screamo. I then got into some classic hip hop and rap and the got current with it. After that I got into a lot of Spanish music and from there into the Blues. I got into just regular rock and roll and then a lot of acoustic stuff and folk. Which brings us to today. Now during my musical journey I continued to listen to the other genres of music I had came upon. Over all, absolutely love music. I’m not a shop-a-holic in any since of the word, except for when it comes to music, movies, and tv shows. I’m a just a huge media buff. 

I’ve been playing the guitar for 12 years not, can get by playing a bass and know how to keep a light beat on the drums. I really want to learn how to play the piano though and also the violin and harmonica. I used to have a little turn table when I was 11 and 12 but I lost it in the move. 

I love being active. I just love doing things. I love being outside, love doing stuff inside too. I love surfing, I’m no good at it but I love the feeling it gives me. When I’m at work, I can’t sit still. I hate when I don’t have any work to do. Don’t get me wrong I love being able to go home early but if there is work to be done I want to get it done. I played a lot of soccer in high school. I played right wing and mid mostly. I played a little football but just didn’t feel like that was the sport for me. Don’t get me wrong I am very passionate about football along with many other sports, it just didn’t seem like where I needed to be at the time. When I was like 7 -11 I used to run 2 miles every day after I got off the bus. I was really into running track and field. 

I like being alone at times. No one likes being lonely, but I do enjoy just being on my own for a while. I know sometimes that comes across as me pushing people away and has hurt peoples feelings in the past. Really wanting to work on that. Hate hurting people. I don’t believe I do it very often or often at all but I know I have at times in the past.

I think it is very important to have friends or a friend. And when I say the word “friends” I don’t mean people you know just because you see them everyday. I mean the people you trust, the people you care about, the people you’ve made stories with. I have been blessed to have a lot of people I can call friends. And I’ve been very blessed that people have called me a friend. I do have a very few special close friends though. The kind you are willing and ready to give your life for. I can count them all on one hand. And I mean besides my family. My family has and will always be my closest friends. The ones I can count on my one hand though are as close as my family are. I know I can trust them with my life. I know I can tell them anything. Honestly I would give my life for a lot of my friends. Really almost anyone to be honest. After I accepted Jesus into my heart I have not feared death. I know where I’m going when it comes my time.

I know I’ve been rambling on. It’s always been a little difficult to write about myself. Not like I have all the bad memories or anything, just can’t ever think of what to say about myself. I try to be very humble or as humble as I can. I always dread the question, ‘what are your best qualities’ because I can’t ever think of what they are. I can always think of what I want to improve about myself but not ever what I think is great about me. 

I’m quite nerdy. And I stand by that about me. I love being nerdy, geeky, weird, and unpredictable. Growing up I was huge into star wars. Once locked down a whole Wal-Mart just cause I was fascinated with an X-Wing. I was a huge military kid. My dad was an Navy SEAL so I got really into the nature of it all. Even got to go on a small training OP with him when I was 5. (No worries I’ll tell you both of those stories in due time.) When I was in my pre-teens and teens I was very much into a lot of Anime. My favorite was Gundam Wing by far. Used to save up to buy the models all the time. Growing up with a lot of family that worked or studied in the education field I got to know a little about a lot of things. My dad was an english major and has worked in the medical field for years. My mom was a history and psychology major. Her sister was a geologist and archaeologist. Needless to say I got a know a lot of facts and things about things. That’s another thing about not just me, but my whole family. We know a lot of useless facts about silly things and random things you’d think no one would ever take the time to know. I love that about us. 

Here’s some of my favorites:

  • Blue
  • Christmas
  • May
  • Music
  • The ocean/water
  • Being lost
  • Finding yourself
  • New things
  • Old things
  • Penguins
  • Corgi’s
  • 8
  • sunsets
  • sunrises
  • the stars
  • rain
  • Luke 1:37
  • Driving
  • Flying
  • Cheese
  • Running

I have never known who I am most like if you had to compare me to someone. Most of the time you can say oh they’re like this person, usually some famous person or some look a like. For the longest time I have never really known who I am most like. I kinda like that fact. But I think one of my friends has finally cracked the case. I know you may not understand or see the resemblance when I say this but after much investigation and research, I have come to agree.

I’m a lot like The Doctor.

I’ve only been a HUGE Doctor Who fan, a.k.a Whovian, for about a year and a half now. And my friend has only just begun to get into it, but I really have to agree. He is a traveler. He bounces from place to place and time to time saving the universe or just saying hello. Not saying I save the universe or anything, I mostly just stop by to say hello. He’s seen a lot of different things as have I. He’s loved and lost, he’s lost most of the time and just goes with the flow. He’s had many different faces and had many different companions/friends. Friends he’s made stories with. Friends he’s had to say goodbye too, and some he’s never gotten to see again. He’s a believer. He never gives up, never gives in. He seems lost most of the time which if you’ve seen me I do too, but knows he’s on his way to wherever he is going. He’s meet many different people and has had many special people come in to his life. I have had the pleasure to have had many people come into my life. People that I have come to love wholeheartedly. And even though they may have only been in my life for a time, they are never forgotten or left behind. I may not travel through time, save the universe, or have a big blue box, but I have hope. I have faith that no matter what comes, God will lead me through and through. I do not know what he has for me in this life he has given me, but I know he’s getting me there.

I am a Traveler.

Again thank you to all who have not just cheered me on through this but for those who have always been there for me as well.  You are loved.

“There’s a lot of things you need to get across this universe. Warp drive… wormhole refractors… You know the thing you need most of all? You need a hand to hold.”
— The Doctor

Leave a Reply

